Boards & Commissions

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Planning and Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission reviews applications regarding variances, zoning amendments, conditional use permits, planned unit developments, and appeals to decisions made by the Director of Community Development. The commission is also responsible for reviewing subdivision plats and development plans. Based on the findings, the Planning and Zoning Commission makes recommendations to the Village Board. The commission, whose seven members are appointed by the President and Village, meets on the Monday following the second Thursday of every month. The meetings start at 7:30 p.m. and are open to the public.

There is currently a vacancy on the Planning and Zoning Commission. Those interested in serving on the commission may fill out and submit the application located at the bottom of this page.


  • Chairman: Joe DeMay
  • Commissioners
    • Brent Borkgren
    • Anna Siakel
    • Greg Walker
    • John Murphy
    • Mike Esposito
    • Suzanne Artinghelli

Public Hearing Rules and Procedures

Parks and Recreation Board

The Parks and Recreation Board is a seven-member board of Lake in the Hills residents, each appointed by the Village President, that recommends recreation programs and ensures park development. Members meet on the first Thursday of each month at the Village Hall. The meetings start at 6:30 p.m. and are open to the public.


  • Chairperson: Diane Tredore
  • Members
    • John Andrea
    • Nicole Sandage
    • Brad Wackerlin
    • Mike Cairns
    • Wendy Anderson
    • Sai Sivakumar

Police Commission

The Police Commission is a three-member commission appointed by the Village President with the advice and consent of the Village Board. Their main duties are to prepare eligibility lists for new officers and promotions, screen new applicants for original appointment, test candidates for promotion, and conduct hearings of misconduct when appealed. The commission meets at 7:00 p.m. on the first Tuesday of February, May, August, and November at the Village Hall. The meetings are open to the public.


  • Chairman: Dean DeSantis
  • Commissioners
    • Sharon Lawson
    • Craig Bolton

Police Pension Board of Trustees

The Police Pension Board is a five-member board consisting of two members appointed by the Village President with the advice and consent of the Board of Trustees, two members elected by and from active participants of the Police Pension Fund, and one member elected by and from the beneficiaries of the Police Pension Fund. The Police Pension Board controls and manages the Police Pension Fund including the investment of funds, the payment of pensions and other benefits to beneficiaries, the payment of administrative and other expenses of the fund, and all other duties prescribed by state statutes. The Police Pension Board meets quarterly during the months of January, April, July and October at the Village Hall. The meetings are open to the public.


  • President: Lawrence Howell
  • Vice President: Stan Helgerson
  • Secretary: Carlo Coduto
  • Trustees
    • James Recchia
    • Bryan Wolf

Supporting Documents